Page Location: Home > GameCube Lounge > Topic
1, 2  Next
martianviking
rank 9
Posted:
Thu Apr 08, 2004 3:41 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Like the title says, I'd like to know what I should say if I wanted to refer to more than one Nintendo system. Just wondering...

Nintendos? Nintendoes? Nintendoe?
Dark Slayer 5000
rank 10
Posted:
Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:34 am
quote : #2
Ha ha ha... This is where I come in, I'm an English teacher. Very Happy. Nintendo used in the plural tense would be "Nintendos". If you had it as "Nintendo's" that would be either possessive or a contraction of "Nintendo is". So if I said, "I have three Nintendos."; referring to my NES, N64, and GC, then that would be the correct way to say it.

martianviking
rank 9
Posted:
Mon Apr 12, 2004 11:43 am
quote : #3
I see. Nice collection of Nintendos. Smile

Where's your SNES love, though?
Dark Slayer 5000
rank 10
Posted:
Mon Apr 12, 2004 12:03 pm
quote : #4
Oh, I have an SNES, it was just a sentence example for you. In my own personal opinon, the SNES was the greatest console ever made. Very Happy

DarkLink
rank 25
Posted:
Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:35 am
quote : #5
I know this is off topic but since DarkSlayer is an english teacher I tohught of asking this....whats the correct way of writing this....is it ketchup or catsup...???
I've seen it as catsup a couple of times......

martianviking
rank 9
Posted:
Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:36 pm
quote : #6
DarkLink18 wrote:
I know this is off topic but since DarkSlayer is an english teacher I tohught of asking this....whats the correct way of writing this....is it ketchup or catsup...???

That one I can help you with.

I think they're both acceptable, along with "catchup" as an approved third spelling. Check this out:
http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=ketchup
satoshi
rank 23
Posted:
Tue Apr 13, 2004 4:06 pm
quote : #7
Catchup? Wha!?
Posted:
Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:40 pm
quote : #8
DarkLink18 wrote: